Orange Long List Announced

It’s that time of year again , the Orange Prize for Fiction have at long last announced the long list for this years award. The literary world and the internet have been abuzz with excited chatter about this years long list; some people seem to be thrilled with this years nominations, whilst I have noticed some disappointment about titles that haven’t made the grade. I must admit that I have, rather shamefully, only read one book on the list ‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue. I am thrilled to see this book on there as I recently read it and was just blown away by the story and the way that Donoghue writes. I wonder then will the other titles have quite the same effect on me?

I’d love to get them all read by the announcement of the shortlist on April 12th but truthfully I think that’s a long shot, instead I wonder are there any books on the list that you would strongly recommend I read? I have recently purchased ‘Whatever You Love’ by Louise Doughty so that’s on my TBR list, has anyone one else read this yet? Can you recommend it as a good read?

The list this year is as follows: 

 

Lyrics Alley by Leila Aboulela

Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch

Room by Emma Donoghue

The Pleasure Seekers by Tishani Doshi

Whatever You Love by Louise Doughty

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna

The London Train by Tessa Hadley

Grace Williams Says it Loud by Emma Henderson

The Seas by Samantha Hunt

The Birth of Love by Joanna Kavenna

Great House by Nicole Krauss

The Road to Wanting by Wendy Law-Yone

The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht

The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer

Repeat it Today with Tears by Anne Peile

Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin

The Swimmer by Roma Tearne

Annabel by Kathleen Winter

 
 

As I’ve said I’ve only read one title on the list so far, but I am looking to remedy this. The Orange Prize for Fiction is one of my favourite literary awards. I love that it shines the spotlight on female writers and celebrates newcomers too. I’d love to hear your thoughts on the award, are you pleased with the writers on this list, is there anything you really wanted to see on there but didn’t? Please let me know.

Leave a Reply

