Help I’m having a book dilemma!

We all know the problem so many books such little time. We have bookshelves at home teeming with books, threatening to collapse under the sheer weight of such a tantalizing selection of reads. And yet there’s just not enough hours in the day to read them! So now that I have a summer holiday booked it seems only right that I gear myself up for some serious pool side reading. Bliss. Off course now that I have this imminent freedom I’m stuck – which books do I take?

 And that’s where you all come in, I’m desperate for suggestions and I would also love to hear what you have been reading this summer. Whether it’s on a beach, by the pool or just enjoying some sunshine in the park. Which books have been your summer companions this year? Or indeed in previous summers? Have you read anything that made the perfect partner for hot summer days, can you suggest a book that is perfect for willing away rare uninterrupted hours with?

 I’m going to Barcelona and Alicante and shamefully I’ve read very little Spanish literature so can anyone recommend any good books relating to the Spanish region or culture?

I’ve composed a short list of my most memorable summer reads and would like to hear yours. Please feel free to leave your comments or even better post your list on your blog and I will check it out.

 Here are my summer reads;

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton – I don’t know about you but when I’m on holiday I like to chill out. So I put aside my more heavy demanding books and indulge in something with a strong compelling story, something I can completely lose myself in. I read this book when travelling on a gap year and it made the perfect antidote to long car journeys in the Australian heat. The novel which is set primarily in England beautifully depicts our countryside in the setting of a vividly detailed country home. I loved the magic and enchantment of this book. My only criticism – the splendor of the English countryside is so strongly portrayed that occasionally I was left rather homesick. 

 One of my top summer reads this year is The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly. I bet people are sick of me singing this books praises but I really can’t stop. I read it on a rare day off from work, the sun was shining, the afternoon was mine and the book was the ideal company I craved. A book quite simple in it’s narration but with a story that is so gripping I could not put it down – isn’t that what summer reading is all about after all?

No Time For Goodbye by Linwood Barclay– I hardly ever read crime fiction books which is probably quite evident from my blog but when I read No Time for Goodbye I absolutely loved it. Sometimes I guess you just can’t beat the plot line of a really good crime or thriller story. Although I read this book in winter I kind of wish I had read it in summer as it would have being a great pool side read. A book guaranteed to help you wind down and relax whilst still captivating your attention from page one. His latest novel Never Look Away is out and I can’t think of a better place or time to read it than on holiday. It’s the only book I know I will be taking with me. Has anyone else read this book?

Cloth Girl by Marilyn Heward Mills – One of the great things I discovered when travelling is that books are given a whole new sense of freedom. There are so many travelers who have with them adored books but are unable to carry them about. Instead books get exchanged far more freely than they probably would under normal circumstances, you more often that not find yourself being given a wide array of books and all for nothing! One such book that’ sticks out for me is cloth girl a book that from blurb and cover alone probably wouldn’t have caught my eye but it came so highly recommended that I read and loved it. A top summer read and a truly touching story all rolled into one.

One Day by David Nicholls– If anyone asks me to recommend them a good summer read then I will straight away suggest One Day. A book that seems unparalleled in it’s power to captivate a universal audience, this book is the book that summer readers dream of. It has love, loss, sadness, elation and it is so achingly true to human life and love that it’s hard to find a reader not captivated by this book. If you want a book that will have you laughing and crying in abundance then I would definitely suggest this novel. It was certainly one of my top summer reads this year.

The Novel in the Viola by Natasha Solomons – Again another novel that brilliantly evokes the British country side in full summer bloom, this book works in perfect harmony with warm ( albeit rare) English summers day. Take this book to a secluded park and prepare to give up a summers afternoon to a book that once opened cannot be put down.

So that’s my list of perfect summer reading. What about everyone else? Any memorable books that you’ve read that perfected long, hazy summer days? Maybe you have a holiday planned and have a selection of books that you also can’t wait to read? And what do you look for in a summer book? I’d love to hear your thoughts and off course your much needed recommendations.

12 thoughts on “Help I’m having a book dilemma!

  1. You should read short stories…I know I’m a stuck record. no one Belongs here more than you, is a great collection by Miranda July.
    I just looked on my extensive list of books to read before you die…there were 11 Spanish books but all quite old titles and none I had read. The best book I read published in Spanish was Isabella Allende In the House of the Spirits, a family drama from South America. Her Have you read Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys? That’s a superb novel. Really enjoying the book club book, good suggestion. x

    • I know, I really should, and I have enough at home. Maybe I just get put of them because I like a novel tha I can take my time with and slowly sink it.

      I haven’t heard of either but will do some researching now and see whatI can find out, thank you for the recommendations though.

      I’m so glad people are enjoying the book! Can’t wait to get my copy : )

  2. I’ve just read In The Woods by Tana French which was brilliant – it’s winter here, but I’m sure it’s a book which would work in the summertime! As for Spanish books, the only one I’ve read that comes to mind is The Shadow of the Wind which I also loved.

    • Brilliant, I’ll look out for it, have you reviewed it on your blog? I’ve only just discovered your blog by the way but really like it : )Think we like the same stuff.

      The Shadow of the Wind is a brilliant idea, I have it at home and have been meaning to read it for ages. Heard it’s really good.

  3. I always think a Christmas themed book is great to read in the summer! I try and read at least one.

    If you fancy some more crime in your reading life then could I suggest Alan Bradley The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie or perhaps try an Agatha Christie. Fairly short books – The 4.50 from Paddington is a good one to start with (in my opinion).

    • Ha I’ve never thought about reading Christmas books on a beach, could be quite a fun experience : )

      I’m going to my fav second hand bookshop next week and they do lots of Agatha Christie books so will keep my eyes peeled as I hear wonderful things about them. Thank you!

  4. I’m no help to you with this one. I don’t think I’ve read any Spanish authors and I have no idea what to recommend for holiday reads either. I used to take about a dozen different authors away with me and read them all when I did beach holidays but nowadays my holidays are fairly action packed so I only manage 1 or 2. It’s easy with a Kindle.

    I’d recommend reading the first chapter of a few different books – It’s easy to get distracted on holiday so you need something that is straight to the point and grabs your attention. If it doesn’t grab you right away you’ll keep wandering up to the bar for another sangrea and keep loosing the plot. 🙂

    • Ha that is a very good point, hopefuklly I will be too busy at the bar! That’s a really good idea, I might dig all my books out from the looming tbr pile and try the first chapters, thanks for the idea : )

      The kindle might be a really good idea too as I’m sharing my luggage with a boy firend who probaly won’t appreciate 50 books taking up loads of room!

  5. P.S. Have you registered your books for World Book Night yet? I’ve chosen 8 so far. I think nominations close either at the end of this month or in the first week of September.

Leave a Reply

