Fear The Worst by Linwood Barclay

Suspense and intrigue is expertly blended with a thrilling plot line that will have you reading late into the night.

You may remember I started of this year reading No Time For Goodbye by Linwood Barclay, and much to my surprise I actually quite liked it. Now I’m not usually one for crime fiction, in fact until reading No Time For Goodbye I had pretty much ruled out crime fiction and thrillers as being a genre for me. And yet I was quite swept away by my first experience with Barclay.

So when it came to picking this years holiday reads I instantly decided to try his latest offering Fear The Worst. Would I become a crime fiction convert? Or would my second encounter down the Barclay road prove disappointing? Well I’m pleased to say my expectations were exceeded with this wonderful thrill of a novel.

What would you do if your only daughter suddenly disappeared without a trace? This is the reality facing Tim Blake when his beloved teenage daughter Sydney suddenly vanishes. When she fails to come home after a trivial family argument panic rises, however when he begins to investigate her disappearance he discovers a murky, dark and mysterious trail has been left behind her.

Why does the hotel were she told him she had a summer job insist they have never seen let alone employed her? And why do her friends only vaguely know about her action before her sudden disappearance? The deeper Tim digs in trying to find his precious daughter the uglier and more ominous reality he seems to uncover. It would seem that his sleepy hometown that he always thought was innocent is hiding a dark and ominous secret and in his search for Sydney he must face the reality that she may have played a sinister part in this underground world he is slowly revealing.

The novel becomes a race against time as Tim fights to find his daughter and it becomes clear to him that he is not the only one with a deep interest in her whereabouts. It would seem that far nastier men than him are on the hunt to track her down. But who will get there first?

Barclay is a master in suspense and he knows how and when to leave the subtle but terrifying clues that pave the way to mystery and suspense within his novels. Fear The Worst is no exception and there are enough red herring’s, nearly fatal brushes with the truth, and cleverly woven signs to keep his readers hooked from the first page till the last.

I raced through the novel and never once suspected the ending, by the final chapters I was riveted and couldn’t wait to uncover the truth. Without even realizing it I was enjoying a crime thriller novel more than I have enjoyed many other books in quite sometime. Perhaps it’s just Barclay that manages to captivate me in such a way or perhaps I need to read books by other masters in this genre. Can anyone give me any recommendations?

Fear The Worst is the perfect book to reach for if you’re looking for a book that will captivate you and have you reading well into the night. Prepare to let Barclay take control of your imagination as he leads you on a journey of false starts and misleading clues that will lave you lost in his world and fearing the worst.

Have you read this book or anything else by Barclay? If you have read it then what did you think? Do you find his work as captivating as I do or do you have another favorite crime writer. Remember as part of my Day Zero challenge I must read the first 10 books nominated to me by the readers of my blog. I only have a few so far so if you can think of any books you would like to make me read then please do let me know.

6 thoughts on “Fear The Worst by Linwood Barclay

  1. I read the No Time For Goodbye book when it was a Richard and Judy choice. It was not something I would have picked up before, but for some reason I have not gone back to this author despite giving the book a good review.

    Might have to rectify this and add to my every growing list!

    • I read No Time For Goodbye for the same reason. I would never normally go for it otherwise. I actually prefered Fear The Worst, it was justa nice easy read, definitely recommend it.

  2. I really liked this onetoo, but for no particular reason I haven’t got to any of Barclays’s other books – yet.

    I’ve been reading a lot of lesser known writers from the golden age in old editions this year, but my two contemporary finds are S J Bolton and Belinda Bauer.And I’d recommend Jane Casey too, but I should mention that her books are more about the journey than “whodunnit”.

  3. I waited quite a while before reading any of his other books, I have to be in the mood for this type of book but I think it’s a perfect holiday book.

    Ah brilliant thank you, I’ve heard of SJ Bolton, but not the other writers, I’ll have to keep my eye out. I do quite like the whole ‘whodunit’ plotline though so maybe the first two would be best for me : )

  4. Hi, I’ve read No Time for Goodbye and Never Look Away. Both I rated as quite an easy read. I wasn’t totally absorbed and entranced by either of them but they held my attention ok. This new one sounds better. I too don’t normally go for crime thrillers. A lot of them are so generic you know exactly what’s going to happen by the end of the first page.
    I’m always looking for a new read though, so I’m sure I’ll get to this new Linwood Barclay at some point in the not too distant future!

    • They are definitely easy reads and there not exactly ground breaking or challenging but sometimes that’s whay you need I guess. I did prefer this one though so maybe you will too (fingers crossed).

      What sort of books do you usually like?

Leave a Reply

