Challenge 54 – Answers On the back of a postcard please

You might remember a recent post were I talked a little about the Day Zero challenge that I am taking part in. I have 1001 days to complete 101 tasks. Many of the tasks are of course book related and most are at the moment a work in progress.

But challenge number 54 is a little more special because it requires the help of you lovely readers. My challenge is to read the first 10 books nominated to me by the visitors to this blog.

So far though I have sadly only had two nominations. Although they both look like wonderful reads so I can’t complain too much.

Dave from Manchester’s Artistic Son recommended Finger Smith by Sarah Walters which is one of his favourite books and one he has been trying to get me to read for ages. I’m very happy with the nomination as it’s one I’ve wanted to read for a while.

Manchester Meanders selected Iain Banks Complicity, again everyone has been insisting I read this one and I know I should haves got round to it sooner. I’m sure I will love this book too and I’m always saying I need more books written by males so this ticks plenty of boxes.

But I’m still 8 down! So please do get in touch and tell me which book you would like me to read. Perhaps it’s a book you love and think I will like but one that I haven’t read? Or perhaps it’s one I haven’t even heard of and you want to introduce me to it? Maybe you would like to see my thoughts on a certain book or just make me read something I probably wouldn’t go for?

Whatever the motivation it really doesn’t matter because this is a challenge and I will say yes to anything. Keep those nominations coming and happy reading as always.

11 thoughts on “Challenge 54 – Answers On the back of a postcard please

  1. I re-read The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks at the weekend. I still think its his best book. I’ve never read anything else like it. I hope you enjoy Complicity. I’m looking forward to seeing what other suggestions you receive.

  2. I really need to read that too. This will buy my first Iain Banks book and I can’t wait. I can’t wait for lots more suggestions too : )

  3. I’d suggest Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry, it weighs in at 946 pages and was a Pullitzer winner so it really is a big book and brilliant too. I’m so not into books about cowboys but I adored this one. It’s got great charecterisation, a great story and one of those stories that leaves you bereft at the end.

    • Wow this certainly looks like a challenge but one I can’t wait to get started with. Thank you for your recommendation. From what I have heard and read this book should be a real treat and it’s probably something I wouldn’t have got round to reading myself. Thanks : )

  4. The book that sticks out for me this year (well one of many to be honest) is Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard and available on kindle. A wonderful book.

    • Thanks Jo. I read a really good review of this book just the other day, great suggestion. I’ll let you all know how I get on with your nomintaions.

  5. Have you read People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks? It’s one of my favourites. Others I’ve loved recently are Let the Right One In by JA Lindqvist, Atonement by Ian McEwan, In the Woods by Tana French.

    • I haven’t read it no, I’ll add this to my challenege too, thanks for the recommendation : )

      I really want to read Let The Right One In, I loved the original movie. Have you seen The American version? I’m not sure I want to.

      I adore Atonement, probably one of my favourite books, and I haven’t heard of In The Woods but will do some reading up on it now, thank you for all the wonderful suggestions!

      Have you started your Day Zero list?

      • I loved the original film, but haven’t seen the American version, and will probably do so one day out of curiosity, but I’m not in a big hurry! I haven’t started my Day Zero list yet….one of these days I’ll get around to it – that should probably be item number 1 on my list!!

      • I’m in no hurry to, I’m sure they’ll manage to ruin it with over the top Hollywood effects…O I’m so cynical!

        Ha that can be one of your challenges, it’s a good place to start! Looking forward to seeing you list.

  6. Pingback: Fingersmith by Sarah Waters | I hug my books

Leave a Reply

