September Reading Fun & Plans for October

Well here we are again, no sooner was I writing a post on my August reads and here I am month later reflecting back on my reads in September. But instead of dwelling on the equivocal nature of time I will instead share with you what has been for me a wonderful month of reading.

You know those months when no matter what you pick up you love it, from one book to another it’s great read after great read. O I love those times. So I started the month with Fear The Worst by Linwood Barclay and whilst I can’t proclaim that this book is stylistically ground break or award worthy it was a damn good holiday read and any book that has me desperate to get from the first page to the last will do for me. And so September was kicked off in crime fiction style.

Next I went for a book that couldn’t have being any different; a novel about conjoined twins. It was a brave, honest, frank and beautifully told story written through the eyes of two girls with big personalities. I laughed and cried in abundance and urge anyone who hasn’t read this book to give it ago.

Just to lighten things up a little I read Gigi by Colette and I still have fond memories of a sunny day in Spain reading this book poolside whilst laughing away to Colette’s hilarious character portrayal in a novel sure to inspire great pleasure and enjoyment.

After this it seemed rude not to read The Cat also by Colette and also included in the same book. This was a far more sombre book given a more playful edge with the addition of a cat named Saha who forms one-third of a love triangle also including his owner and his new wife. I didn’t enjoy the short story as much as Gigi but then I adored this book so didn’t quite expect to. Still it’s an engaging and worthy read especially as you can probably read it in one day given its minature size.

And next up I read this months book group choice, the breathtaking Annabel. I can’t say too much yet as the book group aren’t meeting till next week and I don’t want to give up all my thoughts yet, where would be the fun in that? But stayed turned as the review will be going up soon.

And lastly I started but didn’t quite finish Jayne Eyre. I’m still in the middle of it and loving it, Jayne has just met with a travelling gypsy proclaiming to tell her fortune, things are all up in the air lending excitement and intrigue to this read. I can’t wait to read on and see how things will unfold so this novel will form the start of my reading in October.

I don’t have many more plans for October other than whatever we decide for book group. I’d quite like to actually get round to the first in the Stieg Larsson trilogy kicking off with The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. This book has been burning a hole in my TBR list for too long.

So what books kept you up reading this month, anything you can’t wait to recommend and tell me about? Or perhaps you struggled to find a book that you could connect with? I’d love to hear your thoughts and off course your reading plans for October.

Happy Reading All.

8 thoughts on “September Reading Fun & Plans for October

  1. (loved Jane Eyre, have you been to the Bronte house in Yorkshire?) Loved Room by Emma Donaghue, The other Hand by Chris Cleave, Annabel by Kathleen Winters and several short story collections, I’ve run out of steam with A day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich. I hated with a passion The French Lieutenants woman by John Fowles, and I wasn’t too sold on the complete prose works of Woody Allen, not as good on paper as he is on screen. October is classics, classics, classics…and depending on the vote I’d be up for When God was a Rabbit, or Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Oh and I have to read some SF – Assimov. Oh and I’ll take you up on the photography thing for sure!

    • I love Jayne Eyre, just got to a very interesting bit. I haven’t been there, is it good? Glad you liked Room, it’s such a winner!

      Ha I’m getting that you hated The French Lieutenants Woman – At least you tried it though and can say you gave it a go : ) That’s a shame about the Wood Allen stuff, you’d think it would be really interesting.

      I think Sammy Dee was thinkin of something scary/horrish given the time of year, what about a classic horror? Can’t wait for the photography.

  2. I’ve had a slow month reading-wise. I’ve been too busy to really get stuck into anything so I’ve read a few short books and light reads instead.

    In September I read: The World of Karl Pilkington, which was extracts from Ricky Gervais’ and Stephen Merchant’s podcasts; A Friend Like Henry by Nuala Gardner, which is the true account of a family raising a son with severe autism (Henry is the dog that brought their son back to them); Learning to Love You More by Jarrel Fletcher and Miranda July; The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks (it’s been about 10 years since I first read this – It is as good as I remember); The Peppermint Pig by Nina Bawden (I won this when I was 11 years old) and The Secret Garden by F. Hodgson-Burnett.

    I’m still plodding along with On the Origin of Species [etc] by Charles Darwin but I think I’m going to take a break. I need a few more light-hearted reads if possible.

    As for Annabel by Kathleen Winter – I’m down to the last 80 pages. I should have that finished in time for our book club meeting. 🙂

    • Firstly congrats on the blog nomination : ) That’s amazing! O I’m so jealous, really want to read the Karl Pilkington book. I haven’t heard of A friend Like Henry, sound very interesting though, is it anything like The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime? I’m glad The Wasp Factory was just as good as you remembered. And The Secret Garden what a classic – I saw the pic on your blog, what a wonderful cover.

      Can’t wait to see what you thought of Annabel.

      • Thank you for the congrats 🙂 Do you still want to go on the night?

        I don’t think the Karl Pilkington book is the one you wanted – The one I have is only short but you can borrow it some time. I haven’t read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime – It’s on my ‘to buy’ list.

        I have thousands of books waiting to be read – I wish I could hurry up and win the lottery so I wouldn’t need to work and would have time to read them all. – I WILL win the lottery.. I WILL… I WILL…

      • Yeah I’m definitely up for it, when is it again, I’m hopeless with dates!

        Thanks I wouldn’t mind reading it if that’s ok. I have a copy of The Dog in the Nightime that I would happily lend you but it’s back home, I’ll bring it back with me next time I go home.

        Ha I wish I could hurry up and win it too so then I could buy more books for a start!

  3. Rather a stranger reading month for me September.

    I have also started Jane Eyre but got waylaid with other books so have not got round to reading any more. Will do hopefully soon.

    October for me sees me reading some Daphne du Maurier for sure and whatever else the bookshelf says I should be reading!

  4. Yeah it’s a blooming long book so think you can be forgiven for stopping and starting, I’m really enjoying it but I’m getting keen to start something else.

    I’m thinking of reading my first Daphne book this month, I picked up a copy of Rebecca recently so I have no excuse.

    Happy Reading : )

Leave a Reply

