One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four….and Five

I’m a little slow to join in with Simon’s latest meme ‘One book, Two Book, Three Book, Four and Five” but when I saw that he was running this wonderful and interactive post again I couldn’t resist getting involved.

So without further ado, here are my answers:

1.) The book I’m currently reading:

I’m currently reading Salem’s Lot by Stephen King and I hate to say it but wow am I struggling to get into this book. It probably doesn’t help that I’ve been in a total reading slump of late but still this book has proved hard work. I actually started reading it a month ago and just couldn’t get past the first chapter so I put it down and started it again. I’m still not very far into it but I hear it’s a slow burner and the pay off is worth it….fingers crossed.

 

2.) The last book I finished:

This was the wonderful Jane Eyre, a book that despite taking an age to get through was totally worth it and utterly charming throughout. It’s part of my Day Zero Challenge to read 10 literary classic and what a brilliant way to kick things off. Which classic should I read next?

3.) The next book I want to read:

I’m struggling with this one because like I said I have been in a reading slump. I feel therefore very uninspired by the books around me. That said I’ve just joined a new library at college and every time I walk past the literary section I feel like I’m walking through Aladdin’s cave. That said I think my next book will be The Girl With a Dragon Tattoo that I asked for and was given last Christmas and still haven’t read.

4.) The last book I bought:

I had to really think about this because I never by books, I usually wait till I’m at my favourite second-hand shop back home and go on a splurge. But the last time I parted with my cash it was to buy Annabel. Off course the book is only out in hard back so I grumbled a lot a the till but O it was so worth it so I mustn’t complain.

5.) The last book I was given:

A very kind friend of mine recently sent me The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan. I have actually read this book before but a long time ago and I adore McEwan so I’m happy this book has found its way to me for a much need, and in my case unprecedented re read. I remember being quite disturbed but I also found it incredibly thrilling. Hope I enjoy it as much the second time round.

So there my answers, what about everyone else? If you do decide to join in then remember to leave your link on Simon’s Site, and thanks to Simon for the brilliant meme.

8 thoughts on “One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four….and Five

  1. I’m reading Salems Lot too, what a conincidence, and am struggling too! Each chapter is like a page long and each new chapter starts with new characters – how am I supposed to remember who is who?
    The book I just finished was Motherless Brooklyn, by Jonathen Lethem, which was superb defo in my top three this year.
    The book I’m reading next is The Good the Bad and the Multiplex, but that’s not fiction, I guess my next novel to read has to be something off the ‘list’.
    Last book I bought was Fingersmith (where is this on your list Lou, get it read!)
    The last book I was given (aside from Motherless Brooklyn which wasn’t mine) was The Granta book of the American Short Story which I’ve only read a bit of.

    • Ha what a conincidence indded!I really hope we both get into it, fingers crossed.

      I remeber you mentionning Mortherless Brooklyn and saying how good it was, I’ll keep an eye out for it. I haven’t heard of The Good the Bad and the Multiplex, what’s it about?

      O and I promise to read it very soon I’ve just being so disenchanted by reading recently that it would probably ruin the book for me like it seems to be doing for Salem’s lot : (

  2. Really? Atonement is one of my fav books but it’s not for everyone. The good thing about him is all of his books are completely different so if you didn’t like that one you might still like The Cement Garden. Let me know if you read any?

  3. Although it’s subtle, you may be able to pick up on the similarities between the main characters in Jane Eyre and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

    • Wow I never expected to draw comparisons like that but I’ll keep an eye out for that now. Thanks for pointing that out. Did you like both books?

      • I’m similar in certain ways to the men in both books and am in the process of making chapter summaries for both. After which I’ll analyze the character’s needs, conflicts, attitudes, etc. If you are interested in such couples, you might also check out The Rocky Horror Picture Show (Joan Jett played played Columbia in a Broadway production) and Ovid’s story of Salmacis and Hermaphroditus (and look at Scarsellino’s painting of the pair).

  4. Thanks for the suggestions Anon, I haven’t read The Girl With the Dragon tattoo or seen The Rocky Horror show so I can’t draw any comparisons but TGWTDT is high on my list and I enjoy analysing literature and making comparisons and contrasts so I will be sure to keep an eye out within the book.

    I have an idea what TGWTDT is about and my mind is already trying to figure out how some of the men in that book might compare to Mr Rochester or Mr Rivers. Should make for some very interesting reading.

Leave a Reply

