Books I Can’t Wait to Read in 2012….Part One

I probably shouldn’t be even thinking about which books to read in 2012 let alone writing my thoughts down. My bookshelves at home are threatening to cave in any day now. Yet as the new year approaches my eyes have started wandering to new releases due to hit the shelves next year. And already I can’t wait.

With that in mind I decided to start a little ‘wishlist’ so I could keep track of the books I’m most looking forward to. I’m calling it part one because I’ve only just skimmed the surface in terms of which books are coming out…I’m sure the list will only get bigger.

Firstly I’m highly anticipating The Land of Decoration by Grace Mcleen which will be released in March. (Chatto & Windus). It’s a debut novel that seems set to offer originality and innovation through a story that centers around a young girl who in her quest to escape the troubles of this world makes her own world called The Land of Decoration. She uses pipe cleaner and shaving foam to create her own perfect version of reality. The book sounds incredibly interesting and unique.

Next up is The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey, out in February (Headline). I’ve heard such positive and promising comments concerning this book and the blurb about is so enticing that The Snow Child is a book I can’t wait to read. I hope I love this book as much as the critics seem too. The book tells the story of a childless couple living in Alaska in 1920. They built a snow child and when they awake the next morning they actually see a little girl running in the forest who calls herself Faina. The book promises magical entities mixed with reality. Perfect. 

The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan comes out in March (Virago) and is another book that has caught my attention. It tells the story of a group of people stranded on a lifeboat, lost at sea. The boat is not however big enough to hold everyone and in their desperation to survive the passengers soon begin plotting and scheming. I particularly like books that focus on human emotions and how we react in the most tense and unusual scenario’s; I can’t wait to read this book.

So these are the books that I can’t wait to read in 2012…so far. I’m still looking for inspiration. So what about everyone else, what are you all looking forward to reading next year? Have you already started a list or perhaps you’re not interested in new releases and instead have older books that you hope to devour? What do you hope 2012 will hold for you in your reading life? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

6 thoughts on “Books I Can’t Wait to Read in 2012….Part One

  1. My general plan is more classics and less crime, but beyond that I’m not too organised – I’m just adding books to my wishlist as I spot them. The Land of Decoration and The Lifeboat are both on there and I have already read, and absolutely loved, The Snow Child.

    • Hi Fleur, it was your review and a few others that put The Snow Child on the radar for me. I can’t wait to read it. What classics do you have planned?

  2. Pingback: Magical entities | Selectdesigns

  3. Pingback: Goodbye 2011…Hello 2012 | I hug my books

  4. I haven’t chosen any books to read in 2012 yet. There are just too many great books out there to choose from. I might roughly try to switch between books on my kindle and hardcopy just so I can get through the backlog of ones I keep meaning to give away.

    One thing I am going to do in 2012 is keep a record of the books I’ve read with a note next to them if I particulary enjoyed it.

    • Hi,

      I definitely think keeping a record of books read is a good idea. I used to do that before I set up this blog and without I wouldn’t remember half of what I’ve read or what I thought of them. I use to put a score of 1 – 10 next to each book.

      I like your idea of switching between the kindle and hardcopy. It’s good to mix things up. If there are any books you want to lend this year just let me know. My bookshelves could do with some respite, there threatening to cave in any day now.

Leave a Reply

