Goodbye 2011…Hello 2012

Firstly Happy Belated New Year to you all! I hope 2012 started well for everyone and you all enjoyed the festive period whatever you did. I had a great New Year, hence why my blog has probably being a little quiet this past week, but also as I’ve spent the last few days enjoying everyone else’s blogs and their New Year updates. It’s being great to hear what other bloggers have been doing over Christmas, what books they’ve read and received, the ones they plan to read in 2012 and their favorites of the year.

I’ve already blogged my favorite books for 2011 but that was before I read Fingersmith by Sarah Waters and now I must say that this is firmly up there on my list of top reads for the year. I’ve also started listing the books I plan to read in 2012 but given there are so many appealing new books due for release I fear my TBR list is never ending and am trying to refrain from adding too many more.

So I thought I would do a quick little blog today reflecting instead on what has essentially being my first blogging experience. I started blogging in March after meeting Simon from Savidge Reads who allured me into blogging world by introducing me to his wonderful site and many others.

I then decided to set up I hug my books and for anyone following me in my early days you may know I had the somewhat embarrassing incident of accidentally naming my blog I hug my bogs. Marginally more funny given my name is Lou, this particular incident at least has the one bonus of making people chuckle when I tell them all about it. Oh well at least I wont ever forget how it all began.

 I soon got into the swing of the blogging though and found it ridiculously addictive, there’s something cathartic about reading a book and then jotting down your thoughts. From here I made some really great friends through my book group; a by product of I hug my books. Since our first meet in June we’ve developed a nice steady stream of book lovers who enjoy meeting once a month to catch up and talk about the current books were reading. Were a Manchester based book group and are still welcoming any new members who want to join us. Do check out the page if you think you might be interested.

As the year progressed I became more comfortable in my blogging and developed a taste for what it is I most enjoy writing. I think I’ll always enjoy reviews first and foremost. They are the reason I began blogging and remain the most challenging but rewarding part of the blog. I like having one concrete place where I can visit my own thoughts and secretly I hope that other readers might stumble upon my blog and find what I’ve written helpful or even persuasive.

One pleasant surprise was the brilliant and sometimes genius meme’s that other bloggers come up with, two of my favorites where Cornflower books ‘A Bit of Silliness’ and Simon from Stuck in a Book’s One Book, Two Books, Three Book, Four and Five. Both great ways to re cap on what I was reading or planning to read.

Other blogs that I’ve loved visiting are Tiny Library, The Book Jotter, Fleur Fisher, A Stripped Armchair, Manchester’s Artistic Son, and Manchester Meanders. Thanks to all those blogs for providing great information and intersting posts. I look forward to reading more of your stuff in the coming New Year.

I don’t have any definitive plans for my blog this year, I just hope to keep enjoying the experience, hopefully discover some more like minded bloggers and maintain a place where I can chat to other book lovers about their reading experiences.

I hope everyone else had a great year and read some great books. I hope 2012 is a wonderful year for you all full. And thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “Goodbye 2011…Hello 2012

  1. Happy New Year from me. Thanks for the mention (I hope you meant me).

    I have not read Fingersmith yet but I must get round to it. As I have enjoyed other novel by Waters. Trying to not make too many plans for 2012 reasons wise.

    Glad you are enjoying blogging, I have certainly got into it this time round and I enjoy finding out about everyone as well as all the great books out there, ultimately like you it is a great way to keep a record of books and reading and enables me to ‘download’ my thoughts about books.

    Look forward to seeing what you read in 2012.

    • Hi Jo, Happy New Year, I did indeed mean yourself : )

      Which other Waters books have you read? Fingersmith is the only one I’ve read and it’s amazing so I’m keen to try another of her books. My local library has a copy of Tipping The Velvet, might try that.

      I really enjoy dropping by your blog to see what you’ve being reading and writting about, looking forward to seeing what you do in 2012 as well x

  2. Happy New Year too! (Ooops, I’m a bit late!)

    Congratulations on creating such a popular and interesting blog. I hope you keep it up throughout 2012 too. Since meeting you online through your blog, then later in person through your book group I have dramatically increased the amount I talk about books and the length of books on my wish list. I probably add roughly 1 in 3 of the books you review onto my TBR list, so thank you! 🙂

    (Also thank you for the mention and HUGE thanks for your guest review which I published today). 🙂

    • Happy New Year Sammy Dee : )

      Thank you so much for your kind words. Part of the reason I love blogging so much is meeting and talking to like minded people like yourself. It’s reignited my passion for reading too.

      Also thanks for all your comments, it makes blogging so much more interesting when you can start a dialogue on a book.

      I’ll definitely keep up the blogging, I hope you do to because I love stopping by your blog and seeing what fantastic events are going on in Manchester. Well done on creating such a lovely blog and one central place where visitors and residents can find out what’s going on in the city.

      All the best for 2012

Leave a Reply

