Booking Through Thursdsay – Interview Part 2

Checking out today’s Booking Through Thursday question I was intrigued and excited. Today’s post is titled Interview Part2 and is quite simply a series of provoking and interesting question created by the Deb at BTT aimed at other bloggers and readers.Looking down the list of questions I realized my participation in this task might give me the opportunity to let the readers of my blog know a little more about me. So without further ado here are my answers;

1. What’s your favorite time of the day to read? – Well if I had my way it would be all day but work and other commitments make sure that doesn’t happen. So for me my favorite time to read is during those stolen unexpected moments when I get five minutes to myself and I can pull my book out and have a little bit of me time. Bliss.

2. Do you read during your breakfast? (Assuming you eat breakfast.) – I don’t usually have breakfast, I’m in the habit of getting up five minutes before I need to leave the house, ops. I guess the equivalent would be the five minutes of reading I manage to do in the lift on the way to work. That’s all the morning reading I get.

3. What’s your favorite breakfast food? (Noting that breakfast foods can be eaten any time of the day.) – Like I said I don’t really eat much breakfast but if I had the time and it didn’t make me pile on the pounds then it would definitely be fried eggs, baked beans and bacon….mm this is making me hungry.

4. How many hours a day would you say you read? – Answering this question is really depressing because I want to say ten or fifteen hours and instead it’s a meager one hour a day during the week when I’m really busy, an hour and a half to two when I have less on. And maybe two or three hours a day on a Saturday and Sunday. I used to have so much more time on my hands to dedicate to reading but with work, college, and friends my time is really limited.

5. Do you read more or less now than you did, say, 10 years ago? – I definitely read more now than I did ten years ago. I would have been sixteen then and I had just joined college. Despite studying A level English Literature I was embarrassingly far more interested in boys and going out than reading books. I know I exasperated my teacher who wanted me to knuckle down and pay attention but like most teenagers my mind was else where. However it was the year I first read and loved nineteen eighty-four so not all bad.

6. Do you consider yourself a speed reader? – Definitely, definitely not! As much as I would love to put myself in this category (imagine how many more books I would read?) I am quite a slow reader I think. On average I’ll read a book a week which isn’t too bad considering I don’t have much time to read. I’ve tried speed reading but I find I don’t enjoy it as much. Rushing a book seems to equal missing big chunks out and losing some of the atmosphere. What do speedier readers think?

7. If you could have any superpower what would it be? – Easy I would fly. I always dream that I can, I dream it so vividly I wake up sure I should be able to fly. In fact I even remember a disastrous incident as a child waking up from said dream on the top of a bunk bed and trying to put my theory to the test. Result? Bad idea!

8. Do you carry a book with you everywhere you go? Absolutely. I feel lost and panicky without a book as my companion, I even take on when I go to the supermarket so I can read in the queue.

9. What KIND of book? – Ah how do I answer that question? I really don’t have a type. I’ll read any genre in any format, hardback, paper back. Contemporary, classic, crime…pretty much anything but I’m not a huge chic lit fan.

10. How old were you when you got your first library card? – Mm I don’t really know the answer to that question. It was a long, long time ago. Maybe eight? My mam took me to the local library called The Green in our local village. It’s still there and it’s a charming, homely little place. It’s only small but the children’s section used to enthrall me. I remember being taken as a little girl and being enchanted by all the pictures and words and colors. It was one of my favorite places.

11. What’s the oldest book you have in your collection? (Oldest physical copy? Longest in the collection? Oldest Copyright?) – Ah tough question, I really don’t know. I don’t really look at copyright dates etc. I guess I’ll go with the book that has being in my collection longest and that would be George’s Marvelous medicine which I’ve had from childhood and which has survived years of my mam’s big clean outs.

12. Do you read in bed? – Definitely, bedtime is one of the few times I get to read uninterrupted. I do quickly get sleepy but even so I rarely go to sleep without reading a few lines in bed.

 13. Do you write in your books? – What a great question! I thought I was the only one who did this. I’m an old English lit student so writing in my books comes quite naturally from the days when I would write essays and need a point of reference. I don’t do it in every book but certainly one I’m reading for book group or just one I want to understand better.

14. If you had one piece of advice to a new reader, what would it be? – Give everything a try, don’t discriminate because you might not yet know what you like! If you read something you don’t like don’t let it put you off, that happens to all readers. Take some time to go to your local library or book shop and just pursue the shelves. Something is bound to catch your eye, I believe books can take you on a magical journey and there’s a perfect book out there for everyone.

Thanks BTT for the brilliant questions.

8 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursdsay – Interview Part 2

  1. I loved this exercise! I have already seen that many of us got our first library cards at around eight.

    I like your description of your first library, which reminded me of mine. In a little village, our library shared space with the post office. Very small. I still remember the smell…and I think, now, that it was a combination post office/library smell, as years later, I noticed that similar scent in another village post office.

    Funny how scents linger. Thanks for sharing. Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • It’s great isn’t it. A really nice way to find out more about other bloggers. That’s interesting, I was trying to think, what age is it you usually start to read?

      Your first library sounds lovely. Very old fashioned which I like. I like the memory transportation that smells allow us.

      I’ve checked out your blog, I really like the layout and the things you discuss. I’ll keep stopping by : )

  2. I saw these questions too but I only answered a few of them. Would you mind if I copy-pasted my answer from BB2 to here? I won’t answer the same ones now but I do have some other comments…

    I’m impressed that you read in the lift and in the supermarket queue: Now that’s what you call dedication! 🙂

    I read more now that I used too – Since finding your blog in fact. I used to devour books as a kid. I would visit the library 2 or 3 times a week and max out my library card. If I was going on holiday for a week I’d take the bare minimum of clothes and fill my suitcase with books instead. My reading slowed dramatically at Uni and in the first few years of working but as I said, since finding your blog, joining your book group and buying a kindle the amount and variety of reading I do has shot through the roof.

    You asked about Speed Readers – I don’t think I really am a speed reader, although I know it seems that way when I come here reporting I’ve read 4 books over the weekend. The truth is, when I devour books like that its because I’ve done nothing BUT read. Lol. Some books I naturally read quickly whilst others, as you said, require that you take your time otherwise you miss the point. (I think that’s one of the reasons I didn’t get into Enduring Love).

    My superpower would be flying too. Like you, I also vividly dream that I can fly. I lucid dream – fantastic! Did you know dreaming you can fly means you can achieve anything you want?

    This already looks like an essay so I’ll stop typing now! Lol.

    • Thanks for stopping by, off course you can leave your answers here, very happy to see them : ) I have to read whenever I can because I never get the chance. Think I managed half an hours worth of reading yesterday. Depressing.

      Glad to hear you read more, kindles do seem good for helping people to increase their reading. Book group helps too. Glad the blogs played it’s part in helping. I definitely read more since blogging.

      Ha 4 books is pretty impressive though, I guess having the designated time at the weekend helps. I agree some books can naturally be read quickly, like crime books. But most of the stuff we read for BG for example needs more attention.

      I didn’t know that’s what it meant. I always wondered. What a lovely meaning.

    • Hi there,

      I just stopped by your blog, noticed we got our library cards at about the same time : ) I left a comment but you might not see it because it wouldn’t let me leave it under my WordPress name.

  3. I never took a class or anything, but I naturally read fast. It’s great for reading text books (who wants to waste time reading those?) or really big books, but I wish I could read slower sometimes. The more I get sucked into a story the faster I go and then when it gets to the end I am disappointed cause it’s over. I’ve tried reading slower but I just can’t do it.

    Be thankful you read slow. You may not read as many books, but you’ll be able to savor the really good ones.

    • That’s really good advice, thanks Kim. I never thought of being a slow reader as a positive think but your right it allows me to savour them : )

      It definitely is best to speed read textbooks though!

      Thanks for stopping by, just checked out your blog, it’s really good. I’ll keep popping by.

Leave a Reply

