Booking Through Thursday – Burn

It’s being a while since I joined in with Booking Through Thursday’s weekly meme, but when I saw todays question I knew I had to get involved.

This week the question is:

If your house was burning down and you could save just one book from your collection … what would it be?

(And, for the purposes of this discussion, we’ll allow series to count as “one” long, multi-volume book.)

This question immediately intrigued and excited me. My book collection is one of the most precious and sentimental things in my life. Each book is loving cared for and my entire collection takes centre stage in my home; the shelves carefully and intricately arranged.

The idea of losing my entire collection therefore fills me with dread. But what if I could save just one book? As painful as the thought of losing my books is there is one book that instantly comes to mind and is irrefutably, without doubt the book I would save.

The book is the His Dark Material collection by Philip Pullman, a trilogy that includes Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass. The specific book in question was a gift last Christmas and it’s a very special book indeed. Beautifully designed with a classic cover, this book is a first edition collectors item.

It’s the only first edition of a book that I own, perhaps making it even more dear to me. It’s also one of my all time favourite books, a collection of stories I could read again and again.

So this is the book I would save. I’d feel deeply guilty about leaving my other books but I couldn’t consider losing this volume. Sentimental, full of memories, a book I am truly proud to own.

What about everyone else, if your house was burning down, which book would you save and why? I’d love to hear your answers and don’t forget to post your answers at the Booking Through Thursday site.

Thanks BTT for coming up with such a great question and for prompting to really appreciate my book collection.

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Burn

  1. I would be tempted too, by the same trilogy!
    but I don’t think I’m precious about books in general. I think the one we read for BC would be a contender but I don’t own it. I’d probably grab my hard drive with all my stories on, sounds vain, but I can’t re-write them, and I use libraries for most of my books!

  2. Tough question. I really don’t know the answer. Maybe it’s because I’ve moved onto the Kindle so I’m not precious about books anymore. Even the hardcopy ones I keep because I love them I still wouldn’t rush to grab because I could buy them again. (That’s not really in the spirit of things is it?) I know I’m being too literal. Remember when you asked if we were stuck on a desert island what would be the one book we would want to be stuck with? My answer was (and still is) a survival and rescue guide.:-p

Leave a Reply

